Sunday, October 19, 2008


This is another heron, although I apologize that unlike yesterday's photo, I do not know what type of heron this is.

The heron family, which is called Ardeidae, consists of herons, egrets, and wading birds called bitterns. 15 of the 58 species in the heron family are found in Costa Rica.
The mythical phoenix bird, that dies, is burned and rises again from the ashes is regarded to be a heron. Egyptian hieroglyphics for the phoenix legend show what appears to be a heron or egret.

1 comment:

Sharon said...

I like that. A little connection with Phoenix today.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...